Division of Criminal Justice

The Criminal Justice Bargaining Unit comprises about 8% of Local 749. At its inception, the Connecticut Judicial Employees Union (AFSCME Local 749) represnted all "non-professional" employees of the Judicial Branch, including those who worke in State Prosecutors' Offices, until the Division of Criminal Justice became part of the Executive Branch in 1985. Today, Local 749 represents about 120 Executive Branch Employees in Division of Criminal Justice.

Because DCJ employees are not part of the Judicial Branch, they work under an independant contract, and bargain and handle grievances directly with the Office of the Chief State's Attorney. Any steward local to a member can still handle DCJ matters, but specific issues may also be referred directly to the Chief Steward for DCJ.

Download the collective bargaining agreement for members in the Division of Criminal Justice, which expires June 30, 2021 here:  PDF icon Local 749 Division of Criminal Justice Contract 2021-2025

Past Contracts, Seniority Lists, and other documents are available on the Archive page. (Under construction.)